Post-op Nose Surgery Post

Posted: July 28, 2013 by evang4299 in braces, cleft lip, cleft lip and palate, Evan's Posts, facial reconstruction, jaw surgery, le fort, nose job
Tags: , , , , , ,

So it is about a week and a half after my nose surgery last Tuesday and I had my nose splint taken off this past Monday. I will say that this recovery has been a lot more smoother and not as bad as my jaw surgery. After my surgery the pain was not that bad and I did not have to take any actual pain medication till that night and parts of the next day. The biggest problem with me recovering after this surgery is that after I got home from the hospital, because I absolutely did not want to spend the night at the hospital, I got nauseous and eventually started to throw up which continued throughout the night but ended the next day. Of course when I was throwing up I was throwing up all of the blood in my stomach but also because of me throwing up I caused some pressure in my nose which caused me to bleed a little bit from there but no harm was done.

I have to say I was extremely happy that Genna was there. I told her that as soon as I got out of surgery I just wanted to hold her hand. It was all I wanted after my last surgery and it is what I wanted after this surgery too, it may seem silly but it made the world of a difference after each one. I just wanted to hold her hand and not let it go. She also came over the day after my surgery and held my hand as I basically slept but the fact that I knew she was there made me happy. I also have to say I am really proud of Genna and it made me so happy that I was able to see her before my surgery this time. She made it all the way to the hospital and upstairs and was able to see me before I went into surgery. It really did mean the world to me and I will say that right before I went into surgery I gave her a kiss and told her I loved her and handed her a note saying some sappy things like I did before my last surgery also. I wish that I could have given her a longer kiss but my parents and the nurse were right there and I did not want to embarrass Genna or make her uncomfortable haha.

My nose is still stuffy with all the dried blood from the surgery (I know it sounds oh so pleasant haha) but everything is healing up nice and good, I am still a little swollen but again the most annoying part of it all is that I am still stuffy with all the gunk and stuff in my nose. Also during the surgery they had to cut a nerve that runs up your nose so for the time being I have little to no feeling on the tip of my nose which feels really weird. That is basically all that has been going on and I will post again soon but for now here are some post op pics!

Couple of days after surgery!

20130728-131822.jpg

20130728-131953.jpg

20130728-132039.jpg

20130728-132052.jpg

20130728-132100.jpg

20130728-132109.jpg

20130728-132117.jpg

20130728-132124.jpg

20130728-132132.jpg

20130728-132139.jpg

Comments
  1. evablee says:

    Looking good Evan! Good luck to you and Genna!

  2. R. says:

    You’re such a good sport and you and Genna are so sweet!

  3. How are things going now? I haven’t seen a recent post. 🙂

Leave a Reply

