So this is my second week of classes at Rutgers and I have to say I am exhausted. I am taking 5 classes which aren’t too bad but my major days are Mondays and Wednesdays in which I have 3 classes. The classes them self seem interesting and aren’t horrible but I always feel drained mentally and physically after each class. Just me walking to and from class, which isn’t even 2 blocks away, makes me so extremely tired by the time I get back to my room I just want to sleep (more like hibernate) let alone do homework or anything else.

Luckily last Thursday I was cleared for a soft food diet so I can now eat things like over cooked pasta and rice, basically anything I can mush on the roof of my mouth with my tongue. My current diet is basically lots of liquids still, Gatorade, milk, water, v8, apple juice and milkshakes when I can make them (some with protein powder which is absolutely disgusting). I also am currently eating soggy rice crispy cereal in the morning and at night before I go to sleep, Hormel chili with cheese (thanks to Genna for thinking of that), rice and pasta. I am also taking some vitamins in the morning. Its a great improvement from the pure liquid diet but I have to say it still sucks :/. Even though I am having soft foods I still can’t really taste anything since once the food is in my mouth I have to swallow it almost instantly to ensure that nothing gets stuck in my splint. Also because my jaw is still swollen slightly (partly being because of the rubber bands I have to wear at night) it is difficult for me to open my mouth enough to actually get the food into my mouth.

This has been a really difficult experience for me, and yes yes I know I can get through this and that everything will be fine in the end but still you don’t really understand unless you go through this yourself. It may seem trivial but constantly seeing food commercials/ads, food stores, seeing people eat or just smelling it knowing I can’t eat those things for another 5 weeks really takes its toll on me. It’s not just that but trying to have a conversation with people is tiring in it self, mentally and physically. Just having to repeat myself and the fact that its extremely difficult to talk with this splint in my mouth. I have to constantly be cleaning my mouth with a water pick and 2 times a day use a special mouth wash to make sure that no sugary liquids get stuck in the splint. I also have to continuously make sure I bite into my splint properly, not chew even when eating mushy and liquid foods ( you do it for 20 some odd years it kinda becomes a habit lol), sleep the right way so the swelling drains properly and so I don’t hurt my jaw(on my back) and so many other things to make sure I heal the right way. Its just all mentally and physically exhausting and each day it starts all over.

I have to say Genna has been such a great girlfriend through all of this and I really don’t know what I would do without her. She has given me such a great amount of support and has put up with me through all of this. She always makes me feel better and bring up my self esteem when I talk to her, she really is amazing in every way and I love her so much. I couldn’t be more thankful to have her in my life. She is constantly making sure I have everything I need and making sure I am doing ok.

I guess I will end this post here and will keep everyone updated with how things are going, my next check up appointment is in 1 week. Also Genna should be posting pictures soon of me in the hospital and after.

Leave a Reply

