First Post After Surgery “Im Still Alive”

Posted: January 21, 2013 by evang4299 in braces, Evan's Posts, facial reconstruction, jaw surgery, le fort, Uncategorized

So this is my first post after surgery and I have to say what a long 2 weeks it has been! This is the first time I have had any actual real energy to get up and write this. As Genna has posted a few times already I will give my side of what happened the day of surgery and since then.

After surgery I have to say I only remember 15 minutes of the rest of the day. I remember walking into the surgical room, quite nervous and maybe even a little scared, and next thing I know my sister Christine is saying goodbye to me as I sign “I love you” to her in the post op room and people are screaming my name for me to open my eyes and look at them. I had no idea why people were yelling at me, mostly Genna from what I heard haha, but apparently I would stop breathing from time to time. I thought everyone just wanted me to look at them and I remember thinking to my self “Ugh shut up I just got out of surgery and all I want to do is sleep”, maybe not the exact words I thought but close enough haha.

Through out the night I woke up multiple times due to pain and discomfort. My parents showed up the next morning around 10 or so to pick me up and take me home. At home I basically just sat on my couch and laid there for the next two days not moving much, luckily Genna and Brittany came over to “babysit” me for the first two days after I was home. My face was swollen and I took almost 5 hot showers a day, they helped relax me and made me feel better. I didn’t drink much on my clear liquid diet because I was taking painkillers and antibiotics that really messed with my stomach and made me nauseous. Luckily I was able to stop the antibiotics by Saturday because they were having such an effect on my stomach and I was finally able to drink something. Also by around Sunday I was off the painkillers because I wasn’t in much pain anymore, at this point it was mostly just swelling in my face that was bothering me and the post nasal drip that contained blood haha. By Monday I was off of all the medication and finally drinking things and keeping them in my stomach but I started to break out in hives all over my body. I was going insane, we think it was an allergic reaction from the antibiotics but we aren’t sure. I am still breaking out in small hives but I just need to take a benadryl and they go away. When I had my meeting with Dr. Warren on Friday he said that on a scale of 1 to 10 (10 being the worst) I was around a 9 1/2 out of most difficult post op recovery haha just my luck of course.

As of now I am back at school all moved in hoping I can handle the 5 classes that  I am taking. I will try to post a few more times this week as time goes on but for now I will end this one here. Thank you for everyone who wished me luck on my surgery. I have to say It has been two of the toughest weeks in my life. Genna is an absolutely amazing girlfriend and helped in every way possible, even if it was just holding my hand after surgery. I am an extremely lucky guy.

Comments
  1. christine james says:

    You are and look amazing!!! Seeing you in the hospital in recovery and as I left Genna called me back because she said you wanted to tell me something (all I could think was he can’t talk what is she thinking) then you signed I Love You and cried but I knew you were fine. I am so proud of the strong man you have become…the worst is over!!!!<3<3<3<3<3<3

Leave a Reply

