Waiting

Posted: October 23, 2011 by evang4299 in Evan's Posts

So the time is almost here for me to get my braces (yet again, I had them when I was younger, 3rd grade to senior year of high school). I have an appointment next wednesday to get spacers put in and then next monday (Halloween) is when I actually get the braces put on. To be honest part of me wants the braces to already be on. I want things to get started so that I can finally have the surgery done and over with. On the other hand as crazy as it sounds part of me doesn’t want things to start so soon. I’m not saying that I’m changing my mind about getting the surgery and everything done because I am definitely 110% going through with it, this is what I want, I am going to get the braces and do the surgery. But to be honest part of me cant help but think that on Halloween day I am going to be taking kind of a major step in my life that will change it and this wont be something that I can just change back. Again this is something that I definitely want to do, no doubts in my mind at all. I have thought long and hard about my decision, trust me, and I know I have probably driven my girlfriend Genna, my sisters and my parents insane with my indecisiveness during the period when I was trying to make up my mind about it all, but I have made my decision and I am sticking to it because its what I want.

I cant help but think of all the last things that will happen or that I will get to do before everything gets set into motion. Like for example it will be the last time that I will be able to stick my tongue between my teeth while my mouth is closed (yes I know its odd but its one of the things that makes me ME) or how after all the surgeries and everything is done I wont need to cheat anymore by moving my bottom lip to move my upper lip (I cant move my upper lip because there is no muscle there) or like how before I get my braces on this will be the last week to smile the way I do, on those rare occasions that is ahah, or how this may be the last week that I will get to whistle, or one that has been on my mind all week, My last kiss with my girlfriend the way I look now before everything changes. The moment I sit in that orthodontic chair to get my braces put on will be a very bittersweet moment for me. It will be the start of the end to something that has been that way all my life and the beginning to something that will make me happy and be that way for the rest of my life. I am truly excited and happy for the times to come :).

Leave a Reply

